Increasing Output without Doing the Work

Do more with less

This is part 3 of a series of understanding yourself, to ensure you are creating on a solid foundation. These articles can be read in any order, but here is the start.

Do new things

We all know that learning is useful. But sometimes we only learn things immediately relevant to the task at hand.

There is so much value in learning things tangential to your task. Learning tangentially promotes out-of-the-box thinking and finding solutions to complex problems.

You know those flashes of brilliance where you solve a problem while out for a walk or in the shower? That's your subconscious hard at work and it feeds on new experiences!

Staying active

I’m not going to drone on about the benefits of exercise. But, what I do want to say is that short moments can be more useful than long routines.

When I’m stressed, exercise is often one of the first activities to drop from my routine. To combat this, I ensure I at least go for short, relaxing, walks.

The keyword is relaxing. Walking along a major road is more stressful than laying down at home. But, going off the major road, into a park or even side roads creates a calming energy.

Then, as my schedule eases up I can switch back to longer exercises routines again.

Changing your environment

Here’s a secret my writing cohort my laugh at. I cannot write at home. Every bullet draft, every draft and edit was written at a café or library. Once I get away from the house, the writing pours out of me.

Why cannot I write at home? I have no idea. But that’s beside the point, sometimes the best way to gain focus is to find it elsewhere.

I go to co-working spaces to focus on a particularly difficult or lengthy task. I find cafés great for shorter tasks that are more creative.

Find your space for what you need done, and make a note of it!

Meeting new people

Find people that are captivating with their stories or contagious with their excitement. Listen to their stories and come away energised.

Where do I do this? Networking events, co-working spaces, inspirational YouTubers, or over a coffee with friends.

Find out what adds to your energy, and seek it out!

Recap

  • Time away from work is important. Doing new things rejuvenates and inspires

  • If you can’t make it to the gym, go for a short walk in a quiet area

  • Change your environment. Maybe your writers’ block is your room

  • Talk to those who feed your energy

I hope this series has been helpful for you, reach out if you have practiced any of the steps!